Florida Statute 322.36 states that a person may not authorize or knowingly permit a motor vehicle owned by him or her to be operated on any highway or public street by a person who is not lawfully licensed to drive.
What this means is that if you are going to lend your car to, or allow someone to drive you in your vehicle and you were aware of the fact that the person did not have a valid driver’s license you could be charged with a 2nd degree misdemeanor.
Penalties for Permitting an Unauthorized Driver
Under Florida Law, 2nd degree misdemeanors are punishable by up to:
- Up to 60 days in County Jail
- Up to 6 months of Probation
- Up to $500 in fines.
You could also be penalized with a driver license suspension if the driver causes a crash in your vehicle. In other words, be very careful who you allow to drive your car. Not only will the driver be arrested for driving without a license, but you could be arrested for even allowing them to drive. Of course there are potential defenses to this charge such as in the case of an emergency or necessity.
Contact a Broward County, Miami, and Palm Beach Driving Without a License Lawyer
Choosing to hire a lawyer to represent you in court is the best decision you can make when facing any type of charge, but especially a traffic related misdemeanor. State Attorney’s and Judges will attempt to minimize the effect a charge like this will have on your record and your future. Do not ever attempt to represent yourself if you are accused of any crime. You should always at least contact an attorney for a free consultation. The Office of Dell & Schaefer has been representing clients since 1979. Our Lead Attorney, Grant Schwarz is a former traffic crimes prosecutor who knows the law and how to use it to fight your charges. Let Grant Schwarz use his experience of fighting in the courtrooms to build your best defense.
Traffic misdemeanors are handled by newer and inexperienced prosecutors. Without the proper knowledge of the traffic laws and how they work, prosecutors are at a tremendous disadvantage when handling a case against a more experienced and skilled criminal defense lawyer. Contact Grant Schwarz today to find out how we can help have your charges dismissed. Call 800-403-3887 or email at Grant@dnslaw.com